University of Florida Homepage

Academic Advising Center

Who Is My Advisor?

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences follows a dual-advising model. Responsibilities are broken up as indicated below.

AAC Advising Responsibilities

  • University/College requirements for graduation (general education, foreign language proficiency, etc.).
  • Universal Tracking and course planning for timely graduation.
  • Explanation of academic holds.
  • Explanation of placement and pre-requisites for CLAS courses.
  • Academic probation.
  • Petitions for an exception or waiver of a college/university rule/regulation/requirement.
  • See details of AAC Advising Services

Department/Undergraduate Coordinator (UGC) Responsibilities

  • Major/minor/certificate requirements.
  • Department approval for dual degrees, double majors, and upper-division changes of major.
  • Research and graduate school options in the field.
  • Approval of major/minor/certificate courses taken abroad or at another institution.
  • Waiver of pre-requisites for courses taught by the department.

In many cases academic requests will need department support for college approval.

Select a Department/UGC below for contact information:



African American Studies UGC: James Essegbey
Email: essegbey@ufl.edu
Website: http://afam.clas.ufl.edu/
Notes: Zoom appointment via email
African Studies UGC: Todd Leedy
Email: tleedy@ufl.edu
Website: http://africa.ufl.edu/
Anthropology UGC: John Krigbaum
Email: krigbaum@ufl.edu
Website: http://anthro.ufl.edu/
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Arabic UGC: Youssef Haddad
Email: yah@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/arabic-studies/
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Astronomy UGC: Desika Narayanan
Email: desika.narayanan@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.astro.ufl.edu/
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Chemistry UGC: Tammy Davidson
Email: davidson@chem.ufl.edu
Website: https://www.chem.ufl.edu/
Chinese UGC: Richard Wang
Email: rwang1@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/chinese-studies/
Classics UGC: Robert S. Wagman
Email: rsw@ufl.edu
Website: http://classics.ufl.edu/
Notes: Email for Zoom meeting
Computer Science UGC: Todd Best, Kevin Bird, and Jessica McCarty
Email: ugadvisors@cise.ufl.edu
Website: https://www.cise.ufl.edu/academics/undergrad/csc
Notes: Also available on Canvas and Zoom
Criminology UGC: Jodi Lane
Email: ugadvising@crim.ufl.edu
Website: http://soccrim.clas.ufl.edu/undergraduate/criminology-law/
Dial Center for Written and Oral Com. UGC: Cher Phillips
Email: cherp@cwoc.ufl.edu
Website: http://cwoc.ufl.edu/
Economics UGC: Dr. Kristian Estevez
Email: kj719@ufl.edu
Website: http://economics.clas.ufl.edu/
Notes: Zoom (Meeting ID is 381-154-4451) on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 2:30 4 p.m.
English UGC: Kenneth Kidd
Email: kbkidd@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.english.ufl.edu/
French UGC: Sylvie Blum
Email: sylblum@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/french-studies/
Geological Sciences UGC: Joseph (Joe) Meert
Email: jmeert@ufl.edu
Website: https://geology.ufl.edu/
German UGC: Will Hasty
Email: hasty@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/german-studies/
Notes: Office hours face to face: Dauer 263a or via Zoom: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/143620353
Hebrew UGC: Dror Abend
Email: dabend@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/hebrew-studies/
History UGC: Benjamin Wise
Email: benwise@ufl.edu
Website: http://history.ufl.edu/
Honors UGC: Melissa Johnson
Email: mjohnson@honors.ufl.edu

Japanese UGC: Ann Wehmeyer
Email: awehmeye@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/japanese-studies/
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Jewish Studies UGC: Norman JW Goda
Email: goda@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.jst.ufl.edu/
Latin American Studies UGC: Rosana Resende
Email: rresende@latam.ufl.edu
Website: http://www.latam.ufl.edu/academics/latin-american-studies/
Linguistics UGC: Paula Golombek
Email: pgolombek@ufl.edu
Website: http://lin.ufl.edu/
Notes: Zoom office hours from 1-3pm: Tuesday – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/109478210 Wed. – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/692858657
Mathematics UGC: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou
Email: kchristod@ufl.edu
Website: https://math.ufl.edu/
Microbiology UGC: Bryan Korithoski
Email: bkorithoski@ufl.edu

Physics UGC: Selman Hershfield
Email: selman@phys.ufl.edu
Website: http://www.phys.ufl.edu/
Notes: For questions about PHY 1033C/2004/2005/2020/2048/2049/2053/2054 contact Ms. Ashley Martin at ashleymartin@ufl.edu. For 2000-level labs contact Dr. Robert DeSerio at deserio@ufl.edu.
Political Science UGC: Richard Nolan
Email: rnolan@ufl.edu
Website: http://polisci.ufl.edu/
Portuguese UGC: Andrea Ferreira
Email: deia@ufl.edu
Website: http://spanishandportuguese.ufl.edu/undergraduate-programs/portuguese-major-and-minor/
Notes: Also available on Canvas and Zoom
Psychology UGC: Jeff Farrar
Email: farrar@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.psych.ufl.edu/undergrad/
Psychology UGC: Grad advisors
Email: psych-advising@ufl.edu
Website: https://psych.ufl.edu/graduate/current-grads/graduate-studies/
Religion UGC: Anna Peterson
Email: annap@ufl.edu
Website: http://religion.ufl.edu/
Russian UGC: Michael Gorham
Email: mgorham@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/russian-studies/
Notes: Zoom office hours from 2-3pm: Monday- https://ufl.zoom.us/j/544825218 Wed. – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/832287008
Sociology UGC: Marian Borg
Email: mborg@ufl.edu
Website: http://soccrim.clas.ufl.edu/undergraduate/sociology/
Spanish UGC: Greg Moreland
Email: moreland@ufl.edu
Website: http://spanishandportuguese.ufl.edu/undergraduate-programs/spanish-major/
Spanish (if you did not grow up speaking or hearing Spanish) UGC: Jen Wooten
Email: wooten@ufl.edu
Website: http://spanishandportuguese.ufl.edu/undergraduate-programs/lower-division-spanish-program/
Sustainability Studies UGC: Leslie Thiele
Email: thiele@ufl.edu
Website: https://sustainability.clas.ufl.edu/
Swahili UGC: Charles Bwenge
Email: cbwenge@africa.ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/swahili-studies/
Vietnamese UGC: Andrea Pham
Email: apham@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/vietnamese-studies/
Women’s Studies UGC: Alyssa Zucker
Email: azucker@ufl.edu
Website: https://wst.ufl.edu/undergraduate-studies/bachelor-of-arts/
Notes: Zoom if necessary
European Studies UGC: Holly Raynard
Email: hraynard@ufl.edu
Website: http://ces.ufl.edu/academics/undergraduate-academics/
Notes: Wednesdayoffice hours at 3:00-5:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/627031634 Thursday office hours at 12:00-2:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/493104940
Interdisciplinary Studies UGC: Margaret Fields
Email: mfields@ufl.edu
Website: https://dean.clas.ufl.edu/interdisciplinary-studies/
Medieval and Early Modern Studies UGC: Will Hasty
Email: hasty@ufl.edu
Website: http://mems.center.ufl.edu/
Notes: Office hours via Zoom: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/143620353 or email
Public Leadership UGC: Dr. Timothy Karis
Email: tkaris@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.bobgrahamcenter.ufl.edu/students/public-leadership-minor
Asian Studies MINOR UGC: Ann Wehmeyer
Email: awehmeye@ufl.edu

Notes: Zoom if necessary
Marine Sciences (IDS) UGC: Matt Smith
Email: mcsmith@ufl.edu

Amharic UGC: Charles Bwenge
Email: cbwenge@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/amharic-studies/
Czech UGC: Holly Raynard
Email: hraynard@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/czech-studies/
Notes: Wednesdayoffice hours at 3:00-5:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/627031634 Thursday office hours at 12:00-2:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/493104940
Actuarial Science UGC: John Seppala
Email: jseppala@ufl.edu
Website: https://stat.ufl.edu/academics/undergraduate/minor-in-actuarial-science/
Haitian Creole UGC: Benjamin Hebblethwaite
Email: hebble@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/haitian-creole-studies/
Notes: Zoom office hours and by appt: Wed/Fri 10:30am-11:30am
Polish UGC: TBD
Email: TBD
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/polish-studies/
Notes: TBD
Wolof UGC: Charles Bwenge
Email: cbwenge@africa.ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/wolof-studies/
Yoruba UGC: Kole Odutola
Email: kodutola@ufl.edu
Website: http://languages.ufl.edu/academics/llc-languages/yoruba-studies/
Biology/Bio UGC: Teresa Mutahi
Email: tmutahi@ufl.edu

Health Disparities in Society UGC: Alyssa Zucker
Email: azucker@ufl.edu
Website: http://ufhealthdisparities.med.ufl.edu/about/health-disparities-info/
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Statistics UGC: Demetris Athienitis
Email: athienit@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.stat.ufl.edu/
Chemistry UGC: Melanie Veige
Email: melveige@ufl.edu
Website: https://www.chem.ufl.edu/
International Studies UGC: Dr. Timothy Karis
Email: tkaris@ufl.edu
Website: http://intstudies.program.ufl.edu/
Asian American Studies UGC: Malini Schueller
Email: malini@ufl.edu

University Writing Program UGC: Angela Bacsik
Email: abacsik@ufl.edu
Website: https://writing.ufl.edu/
Marine Science (Biology) UGC: Dr. Nicole Gerlach
Email: ngerlach@ufl.edu

Notes: Zoom if necessary
Criminology – UFO UGC: Jodi Lane
Email: ufocrimadvising@crim.ufl.edu
Website: https://ufonline.ufl.edu/degrees/undergraduate/criminology/
Akan UGC: Charles Bwenge
Email: cbwenge@ufl.edu

Career Planning UGC: Jackie Pedota
Email: JPedota@ufsa.ufl.edu

Notes: Student: Use Gator Careeer Link system to schedule Appointments
Geography UGC: Liang Mao
Email: liangmao@ufl.edu
Website: https://geog.ufl.edu/
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Geological Sciences Certificate UGC: Matthew Smith
Email: mcsmith@ufl.edu
Website: https://geology.ufl.edu/
Italian UGC: Deborah Amberson
Email: dambers@ufl.edu

Notes: Zoom if necessary
BOT/MAR/ZY UGC: Dr. Nicole Gerlach
Email: ngerlach@ufl.edu

Notes: Zoom if necessary
Microbiology and Cell Science UGC: Monika Oli
Email: moli@ufl.edu
Website: http://microcell.ufl.edu/
Philosophy UGC: Gene Witmer
Email: gwitmer@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.phil.ufl.edu/
English UGC: John Murchek
Email: murchek@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.phil.ufl.edu/ugrad/ugrad-major.html
East-Central European Studies Certificate UGC: Holly Raynard
Email: hraynard@ufl.edu

Notes: Wednesdayoffice hours at 3:00-5:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/627031634 Thursday office hours at 12:00-2:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/493104940
European Union Studies Certificate UGC: Holly Raynard
Email: hraynard@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.english.ufl.edu/
Notes: Wednesdayoffice hours at 3:00-5:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/627031634 Thursday office hours at 12:00-2:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/493104940
Geospatial Information Analysis Certificate UGC: Liang Mao
Email: liangmao@ufl.edu

International Relations Certificate UGC: Badredine Arfi
Email: barfi@ufl.edu

Holocaust Studies Certificate UGC: Norman Goda
Email: goda@ufl.edu

Latin American Studies Certificate UGC: Rosana Resende
Email: rresende@latam.ufl.edu

Medical Anthropology Certificate UGC: John Krigbaum
Email: krigbaum@ufl.edu

Notes: Zoom if necessary
Meterology & Climatology Certificate UGC: Corene Matyas
Email: matyas@ufl.edu

Political Campaigning Certificate UGC: Dan Smith
Email: dasmith@ufl.edu

Public Affairs Certificate UGC: Dave Hedge
Email: dhedge@ufl.edu or gmullee@ufl.edu

Russian & East European Area Certificate UGC: Michael S. Gorham
Email: mgorham@ufl.edu

Notes: Zoom office hours from 2-3pm: Monday- https://ufl.zoom.us/j/544825218 Wed. – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/832287008
Spanish for Professionals Certificate UGC: Antonio Sajid Lopez
Email: antoniosajid@ufl.edu

Teaching English as Second Language Certificate UGC: Paula Golombek
Email: pgolombek@ufl.edu

Notes: Zoom office hours from 1-3pm: Tuesday – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/109478210 Wed. – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/692858657
African Languages UGC: Kole Odutola
Email: kodutola@ufl.edu
Website: https://africa.ufl.edu/academics-programs/african-languages/
American Indigenous Studies UGC: Robin Wright
Email: baniwa05@ufl.edu
Website: https://aiis.clas.ufl.edu/
Spanish (if you grew up hearing or speaking Spanish) UGC: Victor Jordan
Email: vjordan@ufl.edu
Website: http://spanishandportuguese.ufl.edu/undergraduate-programs/lower-division-spanish-program/
American Sign Language UGC: Brenda McDonnell
Email: bmcdonnell@phhp.ufl.edu

Medical Geography UGC: Dr. Sadie Ryan
Email: sjryan@ufl.edu
Website: 352-392-0494
Data Science UGC: Demetris Athienitis
Email: athienit@ufl.edu
Website: https://stat.ufl.edu/

Looking for a department outside of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences? They may not follow the advising breakdown above, but their contact information can be found in the undergraduate UF Catalog.