University of Florida Homepage

Academic Advising Center

Who Is My Advisor?

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences follows a dual-advising model. Responsibilities are broken up as indicated below.

AAC Advising Responsibilities

  • University/College requirements for graduation (general education, foreign language proficiency, etc.).
  • Universal Tracking and course planning for timely graduation.
  • Explanation of academic holds.
  • Explanation of placement and pre-requisites for CLAS courses.
  • Academic probation.
  • Petitions for an exception or waiver of a college/university rule/regulation/requirement.
  • See details of AAC Advising Services

Department/Undergraduate Coordinator (UGC) Responsibilities

  • Major/minor/certificate requirements.
  • Department approval for dual degrees, double majors, and upper-division changes of major.
  • Research and graduate school options in the field.
  • Approval of major/minor/certificate courses taken abroad or at another institution.
  • Waiver of pre-requisites for courses taught by the department.

In many cases academic requests will need department support for college approval.

Select a Department/UGC below for contact information:



African American Studies UGC: James Essegbey
Email: essegbey@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom appointment via email
African Studies UGC: Todd Leedy
Email: tleedy@ufl.edu
Location: 427 Grin.
Phone: 352-392-2183
Anthropology UGC: John Krigbaum
Email: krigbaum@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Arabic UGC: Youssef Haddad
Email: yah@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Astronomy UGC: Desika Narayanan
Email: desika.narayanan@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Chemistry UGC: Tammy Davidson
Email: davidson@chem.ufl.edu
Location: 429 SIS.
Phone: 352-392-0541
Chinese UGC: Richard Wang
Email: rwang1@ufl.edu
Location: 359 PUGH HALL.
Phone: 352-846-2071
Classics UGC: Robert S. Wagman
Email: rsw@ufl.edu
Notes: Email for Zoom meeting
Computer Science UGC: Todd Best, Kevin Bird, and Jessica Mccarty
Email: tbest@cise.ufl.edu
Notes: Also available on Canvas and Zoom
Criminology UGC: Jodi Lane
Email: ugadvising@crim.ufl.edu
Location: 3332 Turlington.
Phone: 352-392-0265
Dial Center for Written and Oral Com. UGC: Cher Phillips
Email: cherp@cwoc.ufl.edu
Location: 402 Rolf .
Phone: 392-5421
Economics UGC: Dr. Kristian Estevez
Email: kj719@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom (Meeting ID is 381-154-4451) on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 2:30 4 p.m.
English UGC: Kenneth Kidd
Email: kbkidd@ufl.edu
Location: 4012B Turlington.
Phone: 352-392-6650
French UGC: Sylvie Blum
Email: sylblum@ufl.edu
Location: 243 Dauer Hall.
Phone: 352-392-3261
Geological Sciences UGC: Joseph (Joe) Meert
Email: jmeert@ufl.edu
Location: 139B Williamson Hall.
Phone: 352-392-2231
German UGC: Will Hasty
Email: hasty@ufl.edu
Notes: Office hours face to face: Dauer 263a or via Zoom: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/143620353
Hebrew UGC: Dror Abend
Email: dabend@ufl.edu
Location: 337 Pugh .
Phone: 352-392-2422
History UGC: Benjamin Wise
Email: benwise@ufl.edu
Location: 208 FLI.
Phone: 352-392-0271
Honors UGC: Melissa Johnson
Email: mjohnson@honors.ufl.edu
Location: 201 Walker Hall.
Phone: 352-392-1519
Japanese UGC: Ann Wehmeyer
Email: awehmeye@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Jewish Studies UGC: Norman JW Goda
Email: goda@ufl.edu
Location: Turlington 1120B.
Phone: 392-9247
Latin American Studies UGC: Rosana Resende
Email: rresende@latam.ufl.edu
Location: 358 Grin .
Phone: 352-273-4705
Linguistics UGC: Paula Golombek
Email: pgolombek@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom office hours from 1-3pm: Tuesday – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/109478210 Wed. – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/692858657
Mathematics UGC: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou
Email: kchristod@ufl.edu
Location: 358 LIT.
Phone: 352-294-2350
Microbiology UGC: Bryan Korithoski
Email: bkorithoski@ufl.edu
Location: RM 1047 MCSB.
Phone: 352-392-1906 *per website
Physics UGC: Selman Hershfield
Email: selman@phys.ufl.edu
Notes: PHY 1033C/2004/2005/2020/2048/2049/2053/2054 questions contact: Ms. Ashley Martin, ashleymartin@ufl.edu.2000-level labs contact: Dr. Robert DeSerio, deserio@ufl.edu.
Political Science UGC: Richard Nolan
Email: rnolan@ufl.edu
Location: 234 AND *per website.
Phone: 392-0262
Portuguese UGC: Andrea Ferreira
Email: deia@ufl.edu
Notes: Also available on Canvas and Zoom
Psychology UGC: Jeff Farrar
Email: farrar@ufl.edu
Location: 135 Psy .
Phone: 352-273-2115
Psychology UGC: Grad advisors
Email: psych-advising@ufl.edu
Location: 135 Psy.
Phone: 352-392-0601
Religion UGC: Anna Peterson
Email: annap@ufl.edu
Location: 105 Anderson Hall.
Phone: 352-392-1625
Russian UGC: Michael Gorham
Email: mgorham@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom office hours from 2-3pm: Monday- https://ufl.zoom.us/j/544825218 Wed. – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/832287008
Sociology UGC: Marian Borg
Email: mborg@ufl.edu
Location: 3364 Tur .
Phone: 352-392-0265
Spanish UGC: Greg Moreland
Email: moreland@ufl.edu
Location: 1B Dauer Hall.
Phone: 392-2016 or 392-2017
Spanish (1000-2000 level placement) UGC: Jennifer Pretak
Email: jpretak@ufl.edu
Location: .
Phone: 352-392-2016
Sustainability Studies UGC: Leslie Thiele
Email: thiele@ufl.edu
Location: 302 AND.
Phone: 352-273-2380
Swahili UGC: Charles Bwenge
Email: cbwenge@africa.ufl.edu
Location: 423 Grinter.
Phone: 352-392-2422
Vietnamese UGC: Andrea Pham
Email: apham@ufl.edu
Location: 343 Pugh .
Phone: 352-392-2422
Women’s Studies UGC: Alyssa Zucker
Email: azucker@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
European Studies UGC: Holly Raynard
Email: hraynard@ufl.edu
Notes: Wednesdayoffice hours at 3:00-5:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/627031634 Thursday office hours at 12:00-2:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/493104940
Interdisciplinary Studies UGC: Margaret Fields
Email: mfields@ufl.edu
Location: 2014 Turl.
Phone: 352-392-0780
Medieval and Early Modern Studies UGC: Will Hasty
Email: hasty@ufl.edu
Notes: Office hours via Zoom: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/143620353 or email
Public Leadership UGC: Sheila Dickison
Email: doctord@ufl.edu
Location: 225 Pugh.
Phone: 352- 846-1575
Asian Studies MINOR UGC: Ann Wehmeyer
Email: awehmeye@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Marine Sciences (IDS) UGC: Matt Smith
Email: mcsmith@ufl.edu
Location: 269 WM Hall.
Phone: 392-2231
Amharic UGC: Charles Bwenge
Email: cbwenge@ufl.edu
Location: 423 Grinter .
Phone: 352-392-2422
Czech UGC: Holly Raynard
Email: hraynard@ufl.edu
Notes: Wednesdayoffice hours at 3:00-5:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/627031634 Thursday office hours at 12:00-2:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/493104940
Actuarial Science UGC: John Seppala
Email: jseppala@ufl.edu
Location: 116A Griffin-Floyd Hall.
Phone: 352-273-2971
Haitian Creole UGC: Benjamin Hebblethwaite
Email: hebble@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom office hours and by appt: Wed/Fri 10:30am-11:30am
Polish UGC: TBD
Email: TBD
Notes: TBD
Wolof UGC: Charles Bwenge
Email: cbwenge@africa.ufl.edu
Location: 423 Grinter.
Phone: 352-392-2422
Yoruba UGC: Kole Odutola
Email: kodutola@ufl.edu
Location: 351 Pugh.
Phone: 352-392-7082
Biology/Bio UGC: Teresa Mutahi
Email: tmutahi@ufl.edu
Location: 214B BAR.
Phone: 352-273-0116
Health Disparities in Society UGC: Alyssa Zucker
Email: azucker@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Statistics UGC: Demetris Athienitis
Email: athienit@ufl.edu
Location: 116B Griffin-Floyd Hall.
Phone: 352-392-1941
Chemistry UGC: Melanie Veige
Email: melveige@ufl.edu
Location: JHH 103.
Phone: 352-392-0518
International Studies UGC: Dr. Timothy Karis
Email: tkaris@ufl.edu
Location: 232 Pugh Hall.
Phone: 352-392-5323
Asian American Studies UGC: Malini Schueller
Email: malini@ufl.edu
Location: 4113 Turl.
Phone: 352-392-6650
University Writing Program UGC: Angela Bacsik
Email: abacsik@ufl.edu
Location: 2215 TUR.
Phone: 352-846-1138
Marine Science (Biology) UGC: Dr. Nicole Gerlach
Email: ngerlach@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Criminology – UFO UGC: Jodi Lane
Email: ufocrimadvising@crim.ufl.edu
Location: 3332 Tur.
Phone: 352-294-7179
Akan UGC: Charles Bwenge
Email: cbwenge@ufl.edu
Location: 423 Grinter.
Phone: 352-392-2422
Career Planning UGC: Jackie Pedota
Email: JPedota@ufsa.ufl.edu
Notes: Student: Use Gator Careeer Link system to schedule Appointments
Geography UGC: Liang Mao
Email: liangmao@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Geological Sciences Certificate UGC: Matthew Smith
Email: mcsmith@ufl.edu
Location: Williamson Hall.
Phone: (352) 392-2231
Italian UGC: Deborah Amberson
Email: dambers@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
BOT/MAR/ZY UGC: Dr. Nicole Gerlach
Email: ngerlach@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Microbiology and Cell Science UGC: Monika Oli
Email: moli@ufl.edu
Location: 1355 Museum Rd.
Phone: 352-392-8434
Philosophy UGC: Jaime Ahlberg
Email: jlahlberg@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom office hours on department site
English UGC: John Murchek
Email: murchek@ufl.edu
Location: Tur 4012E.
Phone: 352-294-2877
East-Central European Studies Certificate UGC: Holly Raynard
Email: hraynard@ufl.edu
Notes: Wednesdayoffice hours at 3:00-5:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/627031634 Thursday office hours at 12:00-2:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/493104940
European Union Studies Certificate UGC: Holly Raynard
Email: hraynard@ufl.edu
Notes: Wednesdayoffice hours at 3:00-5:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/627031634 Thursday office hours at 12:00-2:00 PM: https://ufl.zoom.us/j/493104940
Geospatial Information Analysis Certificate UGC: Liang Mao
Email: liangmao@ufl.edu
Location: 3121 Turlington.
Phone: 352-392-0494
International Relations Certificate UGC: Badredine Arfi
Email: barfi@ufl.edu
Location: 221 Anderson.
Phone:
Holocaust Studies Certificate UGC: Norman Goda
Email: goda@ufl.edu
Location: 201 Walker Hall.
Phone: 352-392-2168
Latin American Studies Certificate UGC: Rosana Resende
Email: rresende@latam.ufl.edu
Location: 358 Grin.
Phone: 352-273-4705
Medical Anthropology Certificate UGC: John Krigbaum
Email: krigbaum@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom if necessary
Meterology & Climatology Certificate UGC: Corene Matyas
Email: matyas@ufl.edu
Location: TUR 3119.
Phone: 352-392-0494
Political Campaigning Certificate UGC: Dan Smith
Email: dasmith@ufl.edu
Location: .
Phone: 352-392-0262
Public Affairs Certificate UGC: Dave Hedge
Email: dhedge@ufl.edu or gmullee@ufl.edu
Location: 218 Anderson Hall.
Phone: 352-273-2367
Russian & East European Area Certificate UGC: Michael S. Gorham
Email: mgorham@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom office hours from 2-3pm: Monday- https://ufl.zoom.us/j/544825218 Wed. – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/832287008
Spanish for Professionals Certificate UGC: Antonio Sajid Lopez
Email: antoniosajid@ufl.edu
Location: 3A Dauer Hall (Basement).
Phone: 352-392-3261
Teaching English as Second Language Certificate UGC: Paula Golombek
Email: pgolombek@ufl.edu
Notes: Zoom office hours from 1-3pm: Tuesday – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/109478210 Wed. – https://ufl.zoom.us/j/692858657
African Languages UGC: Kole Odutola
Email: kodutola@ufl.edu
Location: 351 Pugh.
Phone: 352-392-7082
American Indigenous Studies UGC: Robin Wright
Email: baniwa05@ufl.edu
Location: 107C Anderson Hall.
Phone: