University of Florida Homepage

Academic Advising Center

Who Is My Advisor?

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences follows a dual-advising model. Responsibilities are broken up as indicated below.

AAC Advising Responsibilities

  • University/College requirements for graduation (general education, foreign language proficiency, etc.).
  • Universal Tracking and course planning for timely graduation.
  • Explanation of academic holds.
  • Explanation of placement and pre-requisites for CLAS courses.
  • Academic probation.
  • Petitions for an exception or waiver of a college/university rule/regulation/requirement.
  • See details of AAC Advising Services

Department/Undergraduate Coordinator (UGC) Responsibilities

  • Major/minor/certificate requirements.
  • Department approval for dual degrees, double majors, and upper-division changes of major.
  • Research and graduate school options in the field.
  • Approval of major/minor/certificate courses taken abroad or at another institution.
  • Waiver of pre-requisites for courses taught by the department.

In many cases academic requests will need department support for college approval.

DepartmentUndergraduate CoordinatorEmailLocationDepartment Phone
Actuarial ScienceJohn Seppalajseppala@ufl.edu116A Griffin-Floyd Hall352-273-2971
African American StudiesJames Essegbeyessegbey@ufl.edu63 Dauer352-392-2422
African LanguagesKole Odutolakodutola@ufl.edu351 Pugh352-392-7082
African StudiesTodd Leedytleedy@ufl.edu427 Grin352-392-2183
AkanCharles Bwengecbwenge@ufl.edu423 Grinter352-392-2422
AmharicCharles Bwengecbwenge@ufl.edu423 Grinter352-392-2422
AnthropologyJohn Krigbaumkrigbaum@ufl.edu1350A Turlington352-392-2253
ArabicYoussef Haddadyah@ufl.edu357 Pugh352-392-2422
Asian American StudiesMalini Schuellermalini@ufl.edu4113 Turl352-392-6650
Asian Studies MINORAnn Wehmeyerawehmeye@ufl.edu320 Pugh Hall352-392-2422
AstronomyDesika Narayanandesika.narayanan@ufl.eduBryant SSB 214294-1870
Biology/BioTeresa Mutahitmutahi@ufl.edu214B BAR352-273-0116
Biology/Botany/ZYBrittany Hooverbioadvising@advising.ufl.edu205 Farrior352-392-1521
Biology/Botany/ZYClaudine Tolbertbioadvising@advising.ufl.edu205 Farrior352-392-1521
BOT/MAR/ZYNicole Gerlachngerlach@ufl.edu520 Carr Hall352-392-1175
Career PlanningJackie PedotaJPedota@ufsa.ufl.eduFarrior HallTBA
ChemistryMelanie Veigemelveige@ufl.eduJHH 103352-392-0518
ChemistryTammy Davidsondavidson@chem.ufl.edu429 SIS352-392-0541
ChineseRichard Wangrwang1@ufl.edu341 PUGH HALL352-392-2422
ClassicsRobert S. Wagmanrsw@ufl.edu125 C Dauer352-273-3701
Computer ScienceTodd Best, Kevin Bird, and Jessica Mccartytbest@cise.ufl.eduE 405, CSE Bldg352-392-1090
CriminologyJodi Laneugadvising@crim.ufl.edu3332 Turlington352-392-0265
Criminology - UFOLora Levettllevett@ufl.edu3336 Tur352-392-0265
CzechHolly Raynardhraynard@ufl.edu3326A Turlington Hall352-294-7142
Dial Center for Written and Oral Com.Cher Phillipscherp@cwoc.ufl.edu402 Rolf392-5421
East-Central European Studies CertificateHolly Raynardhraynard@ufl.edu3326A Turlington Hall352-294-7142
EconomicsDr. Kristian Estevezkj719@ufl.edu332 Matherly Hall352-392-0151
EnglishJohn Murchekmurchek@ufl.eduTur 4012E352-294-2877
EnglishKenneth Kiddkbkidd@ufl.edu4370 Turlington352-392-6650
European StudiesHolly Raynardhraynard@ufl.edu3326A Turlington Hall352-294-7142
European Union Studies CertificateHolly Raynardhraynard@ufl.edu3326A Turlington Hall352-294-7142
FrenchSylvie Blumsylblum@ufl.edu243 Dauer Hall352-392-3261
GeographyLiang Maoliangmao@ufl.edu3121 Turlington352-392-0494
Geological SciencesJoseph (Joe) Meertjmeert@ufl.edu355 Williamson Hall352-392-2231
Geological Sciences CertificateMatthew Smithmcsmith@ufl.eduWilliamson Hall(352) 392-2231
Geospatial Information Analysis CertificateLiang Maoliangmao@ufl.edu3121 Turlington352-392-0494
GermanWill Hastyhasty@ufl.edu263B Dauer Hall352-392-2422
Haitian CreoleBenjamin Hebblethwaitehebble@ufl.edu363 Dauer352-392-2422 *per website
Health Disparities in SocietyAlyssa Zuckerazucker@ufl.eduUstler Hall 204392-3365
HebrewDror Abenddabend@ufl.edu337 Pugh352-392-2422
HistoryBenjamin Wisebenwise@ufl.edu208 FLI352-392-0271
Holocaust Studies CertificateNorman Godagoda@ufl.edu201 Walker Hall352-392-2168
HonorsMelissa Johnsonmjohnson@honors.ufl.edu343 Infirmary352-392-1519
Interdisciplinary StudiesMargaret Fieldsmfields@ufl.edu2014 Turl352-392-0780
International Relations CertificateBadredine Arfibarfi@ufl.edu03 Anderson
International StudiesDr. Timothy Karistkaris@ufl.edu232 Pugh Hall352-392-5323
ItalianDeborah Ambersondambers@ufl.edu355 Dauer352-392-2422
JapaneseAnn Wehmeyerawehmeye@ufl.edu320 Pugh Hall352-392-2422
Jewish StudiesJack Kugelmassjkugelma@ufl.edu104 Wal392-9247
Latin American StudiesRosana Resenderresende@latam.ufl.edu358 Grin352-273-4705
Latin American Studies CertificateRosana Resenderresende@latam.ufl.edu358 Grin352-273-4705
LinguisticsPaula Golombekpgolombek@ufl.edu4131 Turlington352-392-0639
Marine Science (Biology)Dr. Nicole Gerlachngerlach@ufl.edu520 Carr352-273-0125 *per website
Marine Sciences (IDS)Matt Smithmcsmith@ufl.edu269 WM Hall392-2231
MathematicsKonstantina Christodoulopouloukchristod@ufl.edu358 LIT352-294-2350
Medical Anthropology CertificateJohn Krigbaumkrigbaum@ufl.edu1350A Turlington352-392-2253
Medieval and Early Modern StudiesWill Hastyhasty@ufl.edu263 Dau352-392-2422 *per website
Meterology & Climatology CertificateCorene Matyasmatyas@ufl.eduTUR 3119352-392-0494
MicrobiologyBryan Korithoskibkorithoski@ufl.eduRM 1047 MCSB352-392-1906 *per website
PhilosophyJaime Ahlbergjlahlberg@ufl.edu332 Griffin-Floyd Hall352-392-2084
PhysicsSelman Hershfieldselman@phys.ufl.edu2073 NPB352-392-1554
PolishTBDTBDTBD273-3799
Political Campaigning CertificateDan Smithdasmith@ufl.edu352-392-0262
Political ScienceRichard Nolanrnolan@ufl.edu234 AND *per website392-0262
PortugueseAndrea Ferreiradeia@ufl.edu384 Grinter Hall352-392-2016 *per website
PsychologyGrad advisorspsych-advising@ufl.edu135 Psy352-392-0601
PsychologyJeff Farrarfarrar@ufl.edu135 Psy352-273-2115
Public Affairs CertificateDave Hedge/Garrett Mulleedhedge@ufl.edu or gmullee@ufl.edu218 Anderson Hall352-273-2367
Public LeadershipSheila Dickisondoctord@ufl.edu225 Pugh352- 846-1575
ReligionAnna Petersonannap@ufl.edu105 Anderson Hall352-392-1625
RussianMichael Gorhammgorham@ufl.edu261 Dauer Hall352-392-3261
Russian & East European Area CertificateGalina Rylkovagrylkova@ufl.edu256 Dauer352-392-2422
SociologyMarian Borgmborg@ufl.edu3364 Tur352-392-0265
SpanishGreg Morelandmoreland@ufl.edu1B Dauer Hall392-2016 or 392-2017
Spanish (1000-2000 level placement)Jennifer Pretakjpretak@ufl.edu352-392-2016
Spanish for Professionals CertificateAntonio Sajid Lopezantoniosajid@ufl.edu3A Dauer Hall (Basement)352-392-3261
StatisticsDemetris Athienitisathienit@ufl.edu116B Griffin-Floyd Hall352-392-5175
Sustainability StudiesLeslie Thielethiele@ufl.edu302 AND352-273-2380
SwahiliCharles Bwengecbwenge@africa.ufl.edu423 Grinter352-392-2422
Teaching English as Second Language CertificatePaula Golombekpgolombek@ufl.edu4131 Turlington(352) 392-0639
University Writing ProgramAngela Bacsikabacsik@ufl.edu302 Tigert Hall352-846-1138
VietnameseAndrea Phamapham@ufl.edu343 Pugh352-392-2422
WolofCharles Bwengecbwenge@africa.ufl.edu423 Grinter352-392-2422
Women's StudiesAlyssa Zuckerazucker@ufl.eduUST 204352-392-3365
YorubaKole Odutolakodutola@ufl.edu351 Pugh352-392-7082